Resources for 5th & 6th graders for their Art History reports
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2015
- CLARA Database of Women Artists
Clara® is a unique interactive database containing authoritative information on 18,000 women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities. The information in Clara® is drawn from the materials in NMWA's extensive Archives on Women Artists
- National Museum of Women in the Arts
Dedicated solely to women artists. The website contains a searchable collections database, with artist profiles and portfolios.
- Women Artists in North America
Online exhibit, available in English, French, or Spanish, exploring historical, modern, and contemporary contributions from women artists in Canada, Mexico, and the United States.
- Women Artists in History
Not a pretty site, but a great list! Click the links under each name for more information.
- African American Artists at the National Gallery
Take a virtual tour of some of the pieces housed at Washington D.C.'s National Gallery of Art, where you'll find works by such well-known African American artists as Romare Bearden and Charles Wilbert White. Each piece can be enlarged to full screen size and includes a short narrative outlining the work, and a link to the artist's biography.
- African American Art at the Art Institute of Chicago
This web site features the Art Institute of Chicago's collection of African American art. The collection includes over 100 years of noted achievements in painting, sculpture, and printmaking and ranges chronologically from the Civil War to the Harlem Renaissance and from the civil-rights struggles following World War II to the contemporary period. Click on images that lead you to information about the artist and a history of the piece of art.
- African-American Artists at ArtCyclopedia
List of artists with links to images and more information
Wikipedia is not a reliable source and you may not use it in this or any other research report. Please use the links to the left. If you still need help finding information, please see Mrs. Mason. She is always happy to help.