Resources useful for both the 5th grade Immigration Report and the 3rd grade Country Report
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2015
Excellent starting point for research on countries! Includes a kids' version and an older version. You will need a password to access this from home.
- World Book Online
Contact Mrs. Mason for a password to access this subscription resources.
- ABC-CLIO World Geography
Excellent subscription database! If you are using it from home it may ask you for your Brentwood login. Once you are on the main screen choose "World Geography" under database links.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes the eBook version of Countries and their Cultures. Click on "Nations and the World" on the left. You may be prompted for your Brentwood login and password.
- InfoPlease Countries of the World
Each Country Profile provides information on: Geography · Maps · Flag · History · Current ruler · Area · Population · Capital · Largest cities · Languages · Ethnicity/race · Religion · Literacy rate · Economy · Government
- Famous Wonders of the World
Contains a collection of pictures and information about the world’s wonders and many famous landmarks from popular cities around the world.
- BBC News Country Profiles
Navigation on this page is divided into several pull down menus, each one listing the countries from that part of the world (so you'll need to know where your country is before you use this site). The country pages show photos, news, facts and figures as well as a map and a picture of the country's flag.
- Lonely Planet
Online travel guides from one of the best travel publishers. Includes fast facts, places, and a brief history.
- CIA World Fact Book
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Library of Congress Country Studies
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Wikipedia is not a reliable source and you may not use it in this or any other research report. Please use the links to the left. If you still need help finding information, please see Mrs. Mason. She is always happy to help.